THE NEW GROWN-UPS
2х2 channel. Branding

2х2 is a legendary Russian adult animation channel. Today it encompasses a whole universe of different media, ranging from its original television format to digital, podcasts and its own animation studio. Over the 14 years of its existence, the surrounding cultural context has changed drastically, along with the leading content consumption formats and the target audience’s lifestyle. As a result, the time has come for 2x2 to change as well: the team developed a new broadcast concept, while we took on the brand itself—from positioning to identity and broadcast design.

We had an extremely high-stakes challenge ahead of us: updating a cultural brand with care, preserving 2x2’s DNA and unique personality. In the past, it was the punk of Russian TV, the “rebel without a cause” who openly resisted the mainstream and societal stereotypes to provide a space for those who didn’t want to “grow up” the way they were told. Therefore, when working on the channel’s positioning, our insights agency Signal (part of ONY) studied today’s attitudes toward growing up in contemporary culture and developed key hypotheses about the phenomenon of the“new adult.”

In the 2000s, escaping adulthood was the primary way for 2x2’s audience to maintain their easy, enjoyable lifestyle. Today, however, millennials choose to grow up and develop intellectually, but on their own time and trajectory: without losing contact with their inner child and preserving their inner freedom, creativity and open-mindedness. This especially influences their media consumption habits: in searching for a balance between pleasure and utility, the audience seeks out meaningful content within the entertainment format. Adult animation is one response to this demand, offering an ideal combination of light-hearted form and deep meaning. A close and critical look at the world takes the place of blind rebellion.

2х2 is turning into a whole constellation of different channels, providing a road map of contemporary pop culture. Airtime is devoted to themed blocks with bloggers and curators that help audiences get their bearings in the overwhelming world of content. The updated 2х2 brand is a window into the adult animation world for these “new adults,” who can choose just how deeply they want to engage with content and find their own balance between entertainment and deeper dives. This metaphor served as the foundation for 2x2’s new on-air image while still maintaining its trademark spirit of innovation.

This led us to an ideal of turning airtime into a feed that will scroll like a site or app, blurring the boundaries between television and media platforms. Screenlife, hover effects, pop-up notifications and smooth, seamless transitions between programs and title sequences—all replacements for traditional television cuts. We turned TV broadcast into digital content surfing and the  broadcast schedule into a feed, with content that changes as you scroll. We still had to account for TV’s restrictions, with the variety of screens forcing a certain set of rules screens; therefore, we kept all the brand elements in the “blue zone.” This limitation created the wide margins in our design that are atypical for digital formats, but we’re certain that we can bring the style even closer to the design language of the internet with time.

Since the style was built around an internet aesthetic, where typography plays an enormous role, we chose a web-specific font, Ony Form Digital. This is a universal grotesque that stands out both in large titles and with minimal spacing on lower resolutions. This size contrast is used extensively in the brand identity. One quirk of the font is that the horizontal crossbars of each line allow it to hint well (changing the contours of the font when resized), which is an important feature of any web font and doubly underscores the channel’s website-esque aesthetic, making the font work even on low-resolution screens.

We paid a lot of attention to layouts. Whereas design elements used to be fairly chaotically spread out around the different corners of the frame, we chose to concentrate them in the upper block, echoing a website navigation bar. Information overlays were relegated to the bottom of the screen, resembling push notifications. The channel has a relatively small broadcast production team, so it was important to create easy-to-use templates that can be easily altered and added to broadcast.

Alongside the work on the broadcast design, the channel launched a competition for its viewers to create a new logo. The 2х2 team really liked the concept proposed by Ivan from Saratov, which we polished and fit seamlessly into our style. The channel won’t incorporate our style into their broadcasts right away, so we developed a gradual integration plan as well. The new 2х2 design will stand out from everything else on the television market.

Новые взрослые
Телеканал 2х2. Брендинг

2х2 — легендарный российский телеканал взрослой анимации. Сегодня это целая вселенная из разных медиа: канал, диджитал-медиа, подкасты и собственное производство анимации. За 14 лет с момента запуска канала существенно изменился культурный контекст, основной формат потребления контента и жизнь аудитории канала. Поэтому настало время обновления для самого 2х2: команда разработала новую концепцию эфира, а мы взяли на себя весь цикл работы над брендом: от позиционирования до айдентики и бродкаст-дизайна.

Перед нами стояла очень ответственная задача: актуализировать культурный бренд, но сделать это бережно, сохранив ДНК и особый характер 2х2. В прошлом он играл роль панка, «невзрослеющего бунтаря»: открыто противопоставлял себя мейнстриму и социальным стереотипам, был пространством для тех, кто отказывался взрослеть «по стандартам». Поэтому при разработке позиционирования наше insights-агентство Signal (part of ONY) исследовало актуальные взгляды на взросление в современной культуре и выявило основные тезисы феномена «новых взрослых».

В 2000-х побег от взросления был главным способом для аудитории сохранить свой легкий и приятный образ жизни. Сегодня же миллениалы выбирают взрослеть и развиваться интеллектуально, но по собственным сценариям: не теряя контакт с внутренним ребенком, сохраняя внутреннюю свободу, креативность и открытый взгляд на мир. В том числе, это влияет и на медиапотребление: в поиске баланса между удовольствием и пользой аудитория стремится к осмысленному контенту в развлекательном формате. Взрослая анимация становится ответом на этот запрос, идеально совмещая в себе и легкую форму, и глубину смыслов. А исследовательский взгляд на мир приходит на смену концепции бунта.

2х2 превращается во вселенную из разных каналов и служит навигатором по современной поп-культуре. В эфире появились тематические блоки с блогерами-кураторами, которые помогут зрителю разобраться в огромном мире контента. Обновленный бренд 2х2 — это окно во вселенную взрослой анимации для «новых взрослых», которые могут сами выбирать глубину погружения в контент, находить свой баланс между развлечением и пользой. Эта метафора стала основой для нового образа 2х2 в телеэфире. При этом, телеканал по-прежнему сохранил дух новаторства. 

Так родилась идея сделать из эфира ленту, которая будет скроллиться как сайт, размывая границы между телевидением и медиаплощадками. Скринлайф, ховер-эффекты, поп-ап уведомления, плавная бесшовная смена программ и заставок — вот на что мы заменили привычные телевизионные каты. Мы превратили телевизионный эфир в диджитал-серфинг, а эфирную сетку — в экранную ленту, контент которой меняется по скроллу. При этом пришлось учесть ограничения ТВ: большой диапазон экранов диктует свои правила, поэтому все бренд-элементы должны размещаться в «голубой зоне». Отсюда в стиле появились широкие поля, не очень характерные для диджитала, но мы верим, что еще больше приблизить стиль к привычной интернет-среде — лишь дело времени.


Поскольку стиль построен на эстетике интернета и типографика играет в нем огромную роль, мы выбрали разработанный специально для веба шрифт — Ony Form Digital. Это универсальный гротеск, который достойно выглядит как в крупных заголовках, так и в мелких кеглях при малом разрешении. Этот контраст размеров активно используется в айдентике. В шрифте есть особенность: горизонтальные срезы штрихов позволяют ему хорошо хинтиться, а это является важной особенностью шрифтов для веба, что еще раз подчеркивает образ интернет-портала и помогает шрифту работать в телеэфире даже на экранах небольшого разрешения.

Мы уделили больше внимание верстке. Если раньше все элементы были хаотично разбросаны по разных углам кадра, то теперь мы сфокусировали их в верхнем блоке, что создало иллюзию шапки сайта. Внизу экрана сосредоточились плашки с информацией — они ведут себя как поп-ап уведомления. У канала небольшой продакшн эфира, поэтому нам было важно сделать удобные шаблоны, которые легко можно будет добавлять в дизайн сетки вещания. 

Параллельно с разработкой дизайна оформления эфира телеканал запустил конкурс среди телезрителей на идею для нового логотипа. Команде 2х2 очень понравилась концепция программиста Ивана из Саратова, которую мы доработали и органично вписали в наш стиль. Внедрять стиль в реальный эфир телеканал будет не сразу, поэтому мы продумали постепенную интеграцию. Новый дизайн телеканала 2х2 будет максимально отличаться от всего, что есть на телевизионном рынке.