A new ecosystem
Tinkoff. Identity

Tinkoff is one of the largest finance and lifestyle ecosystems in the country, with dozens of innovative products. The company has gone far beyond offering financial products, adding new features and launching new services every year. But the quicker the company grows, the more important it is to clearly understand where each of the business’ focuses lies in the company hierarchy. ONY’s global task was to organize the whole system: first in terms of structure, then in terms of brand identity.

  • Client

We analyzed all of Tinkoff’s features, services, and offerings and collected them into a streamlined architecture. Then we developed a design system as part of the visual style and branding, which all of the company’s existing and future products will fit into. We made the important strategic decision of strengthening Tinkoff as an overarching brand that dominates all of the company’s different services. What’s more, the client agreed to our suggestion of using the Cyrillic spelling for the brand and products in every case where it suits the overall meaning. We think that this is an honest and bold decision.

In our search for a concept for this new style, we worked with several constants: the company’s signature yellow color scheme and the crest, Tinkoff’s main symbol. Right away, we broke the crest down into its graphical components: two base colors and a black outline. We used these elements to create a layered visual system, similar to windows on a computer screen. This resulted in a unified environment filled with different objects, reflecting the numerous products that the company has to offer. The frame worked as an additional accent element in advertisements, allowing us to separate important layout elements or differentiate blocks of information.

In working on the style, we developed two new fonts. They help the company distinguish itself from its competitors and begin speaking its own unique language. The first one is used for the name of the company and all of its services. It’s wide, substantial, and underlines the confident character of Tinkoff and its products. In the second font, used for body text, we went in a completely different direction and suggested a grotesque font, unheard of in the banking sector. It has unusual narrowed proportions, convenient for use with Cyrillic text, while its dynamism reflects boldness and bravery.

For Tinkoff’s advertisements, we also developed concept for their photographic style. What could be worse than a stock image of “successful success?” We know: if your own production department puts out the exact same thing. The brand’s new photo style is simple: people shouldn’t look at the camera, frozen in a tense pose with an artificially wide smile. They should be relaxed and behave naturally. A warm color palette breaks down the traditional stereotype that “money is hard,” while clean, natural backgrounds are easy to use in digital. In order for the branding team to have their own references, we did a photo session where we showed how real objects interact with signature color blocks and frames.

Now the company has a selection of tools to control the unity and hierarchy of their existing products and for the rapid launch of new ones, with clear communication for users. We are continuing our work on the project and developing the style so that any services, from cellular service to spaceflight, can look contemporary and straightforward, supporting Tinkoff’s overall product positioning are tools to simplify life with just a few clicks.

The textual information in all of this case’s materials are for reference purposes only. For up-to-date information about all services, products and offers, visit tinkoff.ru

Новая экосистема
Тинькофф. Айдентика

Тинькофф — одна из крупнейших финансовых и лайфстайл-экосистем в стране с десятками инновационных продуктов. Компания уже давно не ограничивается только финансовыми продуктами и каждый год добавляет все новые услуги и запускает удобные сервисы. Но чем стремительнее рост компании, тем важнее становится четко понимать, в какой иерархии живут все направления бизнеса. Глобальной задачей ONY было привести всю систему в порядок: на уровне структуры, а затем айдентики бренда.

  • Клиент Тинькофф Банк

Мы изучили все сервисы, услуги и предложения Тинькофф и собрали их в стройную архитектуру, после чего разработали дизайн-систему в части визуального стиля и брендинга, в которой будут сосуществовать все продукты компании и в рамках которой будет легко запускать новые. Стратегически важным решением стало закрепить «Тинькофф» как материнский бренд, стоящий над всеми сервисами компании. Более того, клиент согласился с нашим предложением использовать кириллическое написание бренда и продуктов во всех случаях, где это подходит по смыслу — такое решение кажется нам честным и смелым.

В поиске концепции для нового стиля мы работали с существующими константами: фирменным желтым цветом и гербом, главным символом Тинькофф. Первым шагом мы разложили герб на графические составляющие — два базовых цвета и черный контур. Эти элементы мы использовали для создания визуальной системы — она построена на слоях, похожих на открытые окна в системе компьютера. Так получилась единая среда с разными объектами внутри, отражающая множественность продуктов компании. Рамка работает как дополнительный акцентный элемент в рекламных коммуникациях, с ее помощью можно выделять важные смысловые части макетов или разделять блоки информации.


В процессе работы над стилем мы разработали два новых шрифта: они помогут компании отстроиться от конкурентов и начать разговаривать на собственном языке. Первый — это шрифт, которым набирается название компании и всех ее сервисов. Он широкий, основательный, подчеркивающий уверенный характер продуктов Тинькофф. Во втором, текстовом шрифте, мы пошли совсем другим путем и предложили нехарактерный для банковской сферы гротеск. У него необычные зауженные пропорции, удобные для использования в кириллической среде, а пластика отражает дерзость и смелость.

Для рекламных коммуникаций Тинькофф мы также разработали концепцию фотостиля. Что может быть хуже фотографий «успешного успеха» с шаттерстока? Только если ваш продакшен выдаст то же самое. Новый фотостиль бренда прост: люди не должны смотреть в камеру, замирая в напряженной позе с неестественной широкой улыбкой — они должны быть расслаблены и вести себя естественно. Теплый свет разрушает барьер «деньги — значит сложно», а чистые и естественные фоны удобно использовать в диджитал-среде. Чтобы у бренд-команды были собственные референсы, мы провели фотосессию, в которой показали взаимодействие объектов реального мира с фирменными цветными блоками и рамками.

Теперь у компании появился набор инструментов для контроля над единством и иерархией существующих продуктов и быстрого запуска новых, с понятной для пользователей коммуникацией. Мы продолжаем работу над проектом, развивая стиль, чтобы любые сервисы, будь то мобильная связь или полёты в космос, выглядели современно и легко, поддерживая общее позиционирование продуктов Тинькофф как упрощающих жизнь за пару кликов.

Текстовая информация на всех визуальных материалах в кейсе является референсной. Актуальную информацию обо всех услугах, продуктах и предложениях банка узнавайте на сайте tinkoff.ru