Festival of ideas and technologies
-. Branding

The Rukami project includes more than 40 festivals throughout Russia that will bring together thousands of inventors and makers into a single large-scale community of technology enthusiasts. The objective of the agency was to create a brand that would be attractive to adolescents and students aged 12 to 20 years. The image of the festival should destroy the stereotype that technology, technical creativity circles, invention and making itself are something far-fetched, complicated and very boring.

To express the character of the brand was the main thing. So that is it: the Rukami project is a rebel of its time, a bold innovator who is ready to change the world. It does not think in patterns, but inspires and challenges. Lightness, openness and freedom, creativity and invention are the key values that we have embodied in identity.

Typography became the core of the style. A geometric font was specially designed for the Rukami project and this is the message of the idea of technical creativity process itself through a combination of dense and thin lines. It is made in such a way as the letters seem to be in the process of being completed right now. At the same time, the aesthetics of the drawings is not quoted directly, there is only a slight sense of adaptability.

The stroke which is the second constant of style, is a metaphor for idea progress, its dynamism. It symbolizes the energy of invention, creation and creative freedom. Due to this fact it can change, live its own life, turning into substantive illustrations or simply abstractly filling out formats depending on the tasks.

A variety of corporate palettes will allow the style to be flexible in terms of collaborations, and it can be easily used for zoning the festival in areas of technical creativity, in printed materials and creating customized souvenir products.

Фестиваль идей и технологий
Rukami. Брендинг

Проект Rukami — это более 40 фестивалей по всей России, которые объединят тысячи изобретателей и мейкеров в единое масштабное сообщество технологических энтузиастов. Перед нами стояла задача разработать бренд, который бы был привлекательным для подростков и студентов в возрасте от 12 до 20 лет. Образ фестиваля должен разрушить стереотип о том, что технологии, кружки технического творчества, изобретательство и мейкерство — это что-то заумное, сложное и очень скучное.

Нам было важно выразить характер бренда: проект Rukami — это бунтарь своего времени, смелый новатор, который готов менять мир; он не мыслит шаблонами, вдохновляет, бросает вызов. Легкость, открытость и свобода, креативность и изобретательство — это ключевые ценности, которые мы воплотили в айдентике. 


Ядром стиля стала типографика: геометричный шрифт был разработан специально для проекта Rukami и воплощает идею самого процесса технического творчества засчёт сочетания плотных и тонких линий: буквы как будто прямо сейчас находятся в процессе достраивания. При этом эстетика чертежей не цитируется напрямую, присутствует только легкое ощущение технологичности.

Вторая константа стиля — росчерк — это метафора стремительности идеи, ее динамичности. Он символизирует энергетику изобретательства, созидания и творческую свободу, именно поэтому он может видоизменяться, жить своей жизнью, превращаясь в предметные иллюстрации или просто абстрактно заполняя форматы в зависимости от задач.

Разнообразие фирменной палитры позволит стилю быть гибким с точки зрения коллабораций, а также имеет хороший потенциал для зонирования фестиваля по направлениям технического творчества, для использования в печатной продукции и создания кастомизированной сувенирной продукции.