All about beauty
Flacon Magazine. Branding

In the fall of 2018, the new Flacon magazine team, led by Alyona Doletskaya, decided on global changes in positioning and a partial transition to digital. Now Flacon is a real centre of the beauty industry in Russia, uniting bloggers, fashion adepts, content consumers and beauty brands and all of them speaks about beauty in all its manifestations. The changes have either touched the visual content of the magazine. The bold and unusual for our market shootings full of non-standard concepts, rich colours, lack of a gender framework, interesting presentation forms and not perfectly licked pictures can be found on the pages of today’s Flacon.

Our task was to develop the design concept of the magazine which would complement and promote the new content. Testing cosmetics is an inspiring process itself. When a makeup artist experiments with textures or looks for that perfect colour by waving a brush you can find so many visual techniques that are perfect for styling a beauty magazine. Testing provides variability and the ability to mix colours and create new combinations. This concept can manifest itself in the form of unusual compositions and mixture of typefaces.

In the world of beauty, they “judge a book by its cover” so the key touch point was the development of a compositional system for the magazine’s jacket. The main attention was paid to the capital letter F, which could change its texture: to be filled with varnish or velvet while printing, be glossy or matte. After all, the quality, texture and tactile sensations are the things that first of all give heed to when testing cosmetics. Next to the letter was the decoding, the full name of the magazine, but we strive to ensure that later F became an independent recognizable element of the logo.

Sometimes you can just use patterns or one peculiar detail to make the cover brilliant. In digital we abandoned the pure colour and used a smooth gradient as if it was a makeup line on a hand. Thus, we made the hovers on the site brighter and highlighted some text blocks in the printed version.

We have offered a bold font solution: to use Druk font in two traces (wide and super-narrow) for headings, and the transitional Antiqua William for text typing. The fonts give high flexibility in assembling interesting typographical compositions. So almost at the level of typography this contrasting combination has created a fresh and dynamic image.

As a result, the visual system of the magazine turned out to be daring, but clean and balancing the bright riot of the endless stream of content. The main style and all additional creative techniques we developed in a unique digital-platform of the magazine.

Все о красоте
Flacon. Брендинг

Осенью 2018 года новая команда журнала Flacon под руководством Алены Долецкой решилась на глобальные перемены в позиционировании и частичный переход в диджитал. Теперь Flacon только о красоте во всех ее проявлениях — настоящий центр бьюти-индустрии в России, объединяющий блогеров, фэшн адептов, потребителей контента и бьюти-марки. Изменился и визуальный контент журнала. Это смелые, непривычные для нашего рынка съемки: нестандартные концепции, насыщенные цвета, отсутствие гендерных рамок, интересные формы подачи и не идеально вылизанные картинки. 

Задачей брендинговой команды ONY было развить дизайн-концепцию журнала, которая бы дополнила и подыграла новому контенту. Нас вдохновил процесс пробы и тестирования косметики, когда визажист экспериментирует с текстурами или кистью ищет тот идеальный цвет. Это настоящий кладезь визуальных приемов, идеально подходящих для стилизации журнала о красоте. Тестирование дает вариативность и возможность смешивать цвета, создавать новые сочетания. В журнале эта концепция может проявляться в виде необычных композиций и сочетаний шрифтов.

В мире красоты «встречают по обложке», поэтому ключевым тач поинтом работы редакции Flacon стала разработка композиционной системы для обложки журнала. Основным элементом стала заглавная буква F, которая может менять свою текстуру: заливаться лаком при печати, бархатом, быть глянцевой или матовой. Ведь качество, текстура и тактильные ощущения — это то, на что в первую очередь обращают внимание во время тестирования косметики. Рядом с буквой разместилась расшифровка — полное название журнала, но мы стремимся к тому, чтобы впоследствии F стала самостоятельным узнаваемым элементом логотипа.

В заливке самой обложки можно не ограничиваться только фотографиями — иногда все можно решить паттерном или красивой деталью. В диджитал мы отказались от чистого цвета и использовали плавный градиент — словно линия пробы косметики на руке. Таким образом мы подсветили ховеры на сайте и выделили некоторые текстовые блоки в печатной версии.

Мы предложили смелое шрифтовое решение: шрифт Druk в двух начертаниях (широком и супер-узком) — для заголовков, и переходная антиква William — для текстового набора. Это контрастное сочетание уже на уровне типографики создало свежий и динамичный образ, шрифты дают высокую гибкость в сборке интересных типографических композиций.

В итоге визуальная система журнала получилась смелой, но чистой и уравновешивающей яркое буйство бесконечного потока контента. Основной стиль и все дополнительные креативные приемы мы развили в уникальной диджитал-платформе журнала.

Следующий проект
Сила слов
ATTACK. Ребрендинг