Russian Art... Direction
ADCR 2020. Identity

ADCR is the Russian office of the international Art Directors’ Club and of the eponymous professional creative, design and advertisement competition. The competition’s visual style changes every year, but it always revolves around associations with “Russian-ness” and how to communicate our country’s image. In 2020, the ADCR Awards changed: they became more contemporary, more relevant nomination categories were added, and we wanted to reflect this “leveling-up” with new branding.

This project was unique in that we had the opportunity to use our subjective take on the agency and our personal associations on what would best reflect Russia in design. We decided that first and foremost, we had to showcase the coexistence of sensitivity and romanticism with brutality and roughness.

We developed a unique font especially for the project. It is our interpretation of Helvetica, the signature of good design anywhere. The cultural tie-in for its creation was Constructivism’s brutal aesthetic: radically simplified and rough, it comes into its own in contrast with the smooth, sensitive lines of Helvetica. The result was a stylized but familiar font, capable of turning text in any format into a direct reflection of ADCR’s unique voice.

We used the font in creating motion graphics, too: an agile digital cloud fills the space of filmed footage, instantly announcing that we are talking about the prize’s contemporary, relevant, real and digital nature. Our dynamic branding works independent of its background: ready-made presents let us create animations that can fill and anchor any format. If needed, any stop-frame of an animation can be turned into a static image. This approach helps us put this branding into action at all contact points, including social, web, merch and the awards ceremony itself.

Visually, Russia as depicted in Levitan’s paintings or Gronsky’s photographs is closest to us. This is the aesthetic of romantic realism, the admiration of imperfection, landscapes and architectural forms. We used a cinematic language to show this and traveled to the Moscow region to shoot all kinds of videos, creating low-contrast, slightly unfinished but tender and sensitive sketches. ADCR Awards 2020 will take place in the year of pandemic and quarantine, and we intentionally avoided putting people in frame, capturing that part of our contemporary reality.

Russian Art... Direction
ADCR 2020. Айдентика

ADCR — российское представительство международного клуба арт-директоров и одноименный профессиональный конкурс в области креатива, дизайна и рекламы. Визуальный стиль конкурса меняется каждый год, но всегда строится вокруг ассоциаций с «русскостью» и тем, как можно передать образ нашей страны. В 2020 году ADCR Awards изменился: он стал более современным, появилось больше актуальных номинаций, и нам хотелось отразить этот левел-ап премии в новом брендинге.

Особенностью проекта была возможность использовать субъективный авторский взгляд агентства, наши личные ассоциации с тем, что можно считать отражением русского в дизайне. Мы решили, что в первую очередь хотим показать сосуществование в нем одновременно чувственности и грубости, брутальности и романтизма.

Специально для ADCR мы разработали фирменный шрифт, который может стать константой и в ребрендинге следующих лет. Это наша интерпретация гельветики, эталонного символа дизайна. Культурной зацепкой для его создания стала брутальная эстетика конструктивизма: радикально упрощенная, грубая, она раскрывается на фоне плавных и чувственных линий гельветики. Получается стилизованный, но понятный шрифт, который фактически превращает любое размещение текста на формате в трансляцию уникального голоса ADCR. 

Шрифт мы использовали и при создании motion-графики: пластичное техногенное облако текста наполняет пространство отснятых футажей, сразу заявляя, что мы говорим именно про современность, актуальную реальность и диджитальность премии. Динамичный брендинг работает и независимо от бэкграунда: с помощью готовых пресетов можно создавать анимации, которые будут наполнять и держать формат. При необходимости любой стоп-кадр анимации можно превратить в статичную картинку. Такой ход позволяет реализовать брендинг во всех точках контакта, включая SMM, сайт, мерч и саму церемонию вручения.

Визуально нам близка Россия в картинах Левитана или фотографиях Гронского. Это эстетика романтического реализма, любования несовершенством, пейзажами и простыми архитектурными формами. Мы использовали кинематографический язык, чтобы показать ее, и отправились в Подмосковье для съемки видео с разными сюжетами. Получились слабоконтрастные, слегка незавершенные нежные зарисовки. ADCR Awards 2020 приходится на год пандемии и карантина — мы осознанно не задействовали в кадре людей, фиксируя и эту часть сегодняшней реальности.