A super-app for city life
Yandex Go. Identity

Yandex Go is a single app to take care of everyday tasks in the city, based on Yandex.Taxi. This super-app combines all of the company’s services connected to life and movement around the city in one place: from taxi, carsharing and moving services to grocery and food delivery. The main idea behind Yandex’s universal app is to make people’s lives easier.

The branding for the new product had to meet three important criteria. First of all, we had to create a system where various services could comfortably coexist together. Second, we needed a direct graphical link with how the product was designed. Finally, it was important to preserve its continuity with the style of Yandex.Taxi in order to help people transition smoothly to the new logic behind the app. We had the advantage of being the team who developed the previous style, so we had a clear understanding of all of its components and the constants that needed further development.

In search of a solution, we examined various concepts, from blocks placed on top of each other like windows in a mobile browser to timelines that illustrated the capability to use different services sequentially. The logic of the app itself was the determining factor in choosing the final concept: the main screen of Yandex Go shows all of these capabilities in a smart feed of shortcuts which give users quick access to functions that are most relevant to them at a given moment.

The starting point for the final branding concept for Yandex Go were split blocks from the previous design system. Previously, the icon for the Yandex.Taxi app combined two visual ideas: the letter T and a taxi checkerboard. Now that the service is becoming part of an enormous ecosystem, we tried to scale up and take a “wider look” in order to see all of the options in the feed. This is how split blocks turned into shortcut cards directly referring to how the service’s app looks.

The essence of Yandex Go’s visual language is that it should work on the widest possible variety of media and in the large number of scenarios that the product is designed for. As a result, the style should be as simple and straightforward as possible while still giving the opportunity and space to solve extremely varied communication challenges. To do this, we  provided a system that would allow the Yandex team to easily create new layouts for any situation.

We proposed using three types of layouts as a foundation: 1. A composition as close as possible to Yandex.Taxi’s style but with rounded split blocks and a shadow to add a pleasant materiality to the graphical elements. 2. Layouts with a lot of negative space and cards, providing a greater level of visual harmony with the outward appearance of the new app and explaining its mechanics in the best possible way.3. Formats with full-screen photographs for image communication. In essence, these formats look like large shortcut cards from the app’s feed.


The style for Yandex Go was developed in close collaboration with the client, and we spent no shortage of multi-hour workshops together. At one of them, we generated a concept for updating the app’s illustrations, which we later passed on to the designers at Yandex Go’s creative studio, Magic Camp. It was based on a line, as a metaphor for roads on a map. We also created three-dimensional objects and characters who talked about different use cases for the app. 


We created a design system for Yandex Go together with the Yandex team, maintaining a balance between the recognizability of their existing branding and a reflection of the all-new product on offer to users. We hope that we were able to make it simple and flexible enough to explain the new logic of the app’s functionality to users.

Суперприложение для жизни в городе
Яндекс Go. Айдентика

Яндекс Go — единое приложение для решения повседневных задач в городе, созданное на базе Яндекс.Такси. Суперапп объединяет в одном месте сервисы компании, связанные с жизнью и передвижением в городе: от такси, каршеринга и грузоперевозок до доставки продуктов и готовой еды из ресторанов. Основная идея универсального приложения от Яндекса — сделать жизнь людей проще.

Брендинг нового продукта должен был соответствовать трем важным критериям. Во-первых, нужно было придумать систему, в которой разные сервисы смогут комфортно сосуществовать вместе. Во-вторых, требовалась прямая графическая связь с тем, как устроен сам продукт. И, наконец, было важно сохранить преемственность к стилю Яндекс.Такси, чтобы обеспечить плавный переход к новой логике работы с приложением. Плюсом было то, что предыдущий стиль разрабатывала наша команда, поэтому мы отлично разбирались в его составляющих и тех константах, которые нужно развить.

В поисках решения мы рассматривали разные концепции — от блоков, наложенных друг на друга, как вкладки в мобильном приложении браузера, до таймлайнов, иллюстрирующих возможность одновременного использования сервисов. Определяющим фактором при выборе концепции стала логика работы самого приложения: на главном экране Яндекс Go все возможности представлены в умной ленте шорткатов, с помощью которых пользователь получает быстрый доступ к функциям, наиболее актуальным для него в данный момент.

Отправной точкой в финальной концепции брендинга Яндекс Go стали сплит-блоки из прошлой дизайн-системы. Раньше иконка Яндекс.Такси объединяла в себе два образа: букву «Т» и шашечки такси. Теперь, когда сервис становится частью огромной экосистемы, мы попробовали изменить масштаб и «взглянуть шире», чтобы увидеть все предложения в ленте. Так сплит-блоки превратились в карточки шорткатов, напрямую отсылая к тому, как выглядит само приложение.

Особенность визуального языка для Яндекс Go в том, что он должен работать на самых разных носителях и в большом количестве сценариев, которые предполагает продукт. Поэтому стиль должен быть максимально простым и прозрачным, но при этом давать возможность и простор для решения совершенно разных коммуникационных задач. Для этого мы предусмотрели систему, в которой команда Яндекса легко сможет создавать новые макеты на любой случай. 

За основу мы предложили взять три типа макетов: 1. Композиция, максимально близкая к стилю Такси, но со скруглением сплит-блоков и тенью, которая добавляет приятную материальность графике. 2. Макеты с большим количеством воздуха и карточками. Такое решение в большей степени рифмуется с внешним видом нового приложения и лучше всего объясняет его механику. 3. Форматы с фулскрин-фотографиям для имиджевых коммуникаций. По сути, такие форматы выглядят как крупные карточки «шорткатов» из ленты приложения.

 

Стиль Яндекс Go разрабатывался в тесной коллаборации с клиентом, вместе мы провели не один многочасовой воркшоп. На одном из них родилась концепция по обновлению иллюстраций, реализованных впоследствии дизайнерами креативной студии Яндекс Go Magic Camp. В основу легла линия, как метафора дороги на карте. Также появились трёхмерные объекты и персонажи, рассказывающие о сценариях использования приложения. 


Вместе с командой Яндекса мы создали дизайн-систему для Яндекс Go, которая удерживает баланс между узнаваемостью существующего брендинга и отражением того, что перед пользователем появился совершенно новый продукт. Надеемся, у нас получилось сделать ее достаточно простой и гибкой, позволяющей легко доносить новую логику работы приложения.