For children and their parents
Gulliver. Branding

Gulliver is a famous chain of stores with clothing, footwear and accessories for children. The chain's product range includes in-house clothing brands Gulliver and Button Blue, as well as Gulliver Toys and toys from third-party suppliers that meet Gulliver's high standards of quality and correspond to its values. The company turned to ONY to create a comprehensive design for a single e-commerce platform. We studied the segment of the category and the semiotics of children's culture, then developed a brand platform and identity which later helped us create the concept for a new online store: Gulliver Market.

A semiotic study conducted by Signal, our insights agency showed that in recent years, the role of the child in culture has changed: children are increasingly perceived as independent individuals, capable of thinking about their feelings and comfort. At the same time, most children's brands continue to use outmoded cultural and visual codes in their communication. We offered Gulliver the chance to become a strong brand in its category and become a platform for building respectful, harmonious and eco-friendly relationships within families. 


Gulliver's new positioning is as "an online store for children and their parents." Like the hero of the novel, who visited both Lilliput and the Land of Giants, the brand becomes an intermediary who understands the needs of two audiences simultaneously. The brand's image is emotionally mature, grown-up and understands what it wants, helping children develop and find themselves.

The main idea in this new identity is the image of a coloring book. Laconic and calm in its "zero" state, then immediately brighter as soon as it falls into the hands of a child, the coloring book reflects a new positioning through the synergy of an adult and a child's visual languages. For the corporate palette, we suggested using a neutral gray with the addition of pastel colors: this solution strongly distinguishes Gulliver from other stores in the children's goods category.

A significant role in this style is played by typography, with a mix of filled and contoured letters that support the color concept. A neutral Grotesque combined with a slanted Antiqua allowed us to find a balance between childlike spontaneity and calm, measured adult language. We updated Gulliver's logo, adding a more relaxed lettering while abandoning any whimsy and deliberate childishness: now there are no rounded and dancing strokes, but it preserves a feeling of play through small decorative details in the letters. To add emotionality, we drew a set of contour emoji that work both as self-sufficient messages or as separate objects in a layout. A set of more functional illustrations in the same style was also added.

As a result, we managed to find a new approach to the visual image of a children's brand. It sets itself apart from the competition in a significant way, helping to convey Gulliver's message about the importance of eco-friendly communication between adults and children, and also subtly develops children's tastes while staying clear and close to them in the process.

Для детей и их родителей
Gulliver. Брендинг

Gulliver — известная сеть магазинов одежды, обуви и аксессуаров для детей. В ассортименте сети собственные бренды одежды Gulliver и Button Blue, а также Gulliver Toys и игрушки от сторонних поставщиков, прошедшие качественный отбор и соответствующие ценностям Gulliver. В ONY компания обратилась за комплексным проектом по запуску единой платформы e-commerce. Мы провели исследование категории и семиотику детской культуры, разработали бренд-платформу и айдентику, что в дальнейшем помогло найти концепцию нового интернет-магазина Gulliver Market.

Семиотическое исследование, которым занималось наше insights-агентство Signal, показало, что за последнее время роль ребенка в культуре изменилась: детей все чаще воспринимают как самостоятельных личностей, задумываются об их чувствах и комфорте. При этом большинство детских брендов продолжают использовать в коммуникации уходящие культурные и визуальные коды. Мы предложили Gulliver выступить сильным брендом в своей категории и стать платформой для построения уважительных, гармоничных и экологичных отношений в семье. 


Новое позиционирование Gulliver — «Интернет-магазин для детей и их родителей». Словно книжный герой, побывавший и в Лилипутии, и в стране великанов, бренд становится посредником, понимающим запросы сразу двух аудиторий. Образ бренда — эмоционально зрелый, взрослый, понимающий чего хочет, помогающий ребенку развиваться и обретать себя.


Главной идеей в айдентике стал образ раскраски. Лаконичная и спокойная в «нулевом» состоянии и яркая, когда попадает в руки ребенка, раскраска отражает новое позиционирование через синергию взрослого и детского визуальных языков. В фирменной палитре мы предложили использовать нейтральный серый с добавлением пастельных цветов — это решение сильно отличает Gulliver от других магазинов в категории детских товаров. 

Большую роль в стиле играет типографика с миксом залитых и контурных букв, поддерживающих концепцию раскраски. Нейтральный гротеск в сочетании с наклонной антиквой позволил найти баланс между детской непосредственностью и спокойным взрослым языком. Мы обновили логотип Gulliver, разработав более спокойный леттеринг, также отказавшись от заигрывания и нарочитой детскости: теперь в нем нет скруглений и пляшущих штрихов, но сохранилось ощущение игры благодаря небольшим декоративным деталям в буквах. Чтобы добавить эмоциональности, мы отрисовали сет контурных пиктограмм-эмодзи, которые работают как часть сообщения или как самостоятельные объекты на макете. К ним также добавился набор более функциональных иллюстраций в той же стилистике.

В итоге у нас получилось найти новый подход к визуальному образу детского бренда. Он значительно отстраивается от конкурентов, помогает доносить сообщение Gulliver о важности экологичной коммуникации между взрослыми и детьми, а также ненавязчиво развивает вкус детей, оставаясь понятными и близкими для них.